As many of you may already know, the Built by Wendy sample sale was a couple weekends ago. After (very little) debating with myself, I decided I had better check it out–I am trying to shop less and acquire less, but one of my goals is to have things that are classic, durable, and that will stay in my wardrobe for a long time. I still have a Built by Wendy top that I got for my 19th birthday (more on that later), so I think it’s safe to say that her clothes meet the criteria.

While I’m glad I went, sample sales are so, so, hard. I wanted to get only things that I need (e.g., warm tops. Actually, that’s it–that’s really all I need), but I was seduced by wickedly cheap t-shirts, dresses I’d lusted over in seasons past, and criminally cheap jeans. Of course, none of these were things I needed, but they all ended up in the dressing room with me anyway. I was able to reign it in at the end, and I only went home with one (warm!) top, but holy shit, sample sales are tempting as well. As I left, all I could think was, really? I went in with a very limited budget, I knew exactly what I needed, and I was still seduced by things that would ultimately just be another expense, and take up valuable closet real estate to boot.

Anyhow, the story has a happy ending, because I’m super pleased with the top I bought, and I drew the line there. I paid $45 for an adorable gingham top that retailed for $176. Also, these are my new boots (!):

Onto food! I swear, this is become a Breakfast Blog. What can I say? I’m a breakfast girl! This week, I’ve been having a rather substantial breakfast of Cheater Baked Beans from Veganomicon, and garlic roasted potatoes from Vegan Brunch. I swear, the Brits have it right: beans are an awesome breakfast.

And sewing! I’ve been on a sort of sewing hiatus lately. The hiatus is over, though, because the five year-old Built by Wendy top that I mentioned above is still a favorite, and it needed some TLC. It has an elasticized empire waist, but the elastic had lost is stretch, which left it shapeless and not so cute:

And so, it’s sewing time! I’ve gotten started, but I haven’t finished, so expect a final product within the week.