After buying my new computer, I don’t really have the money to spend on a $50 soft case, so I decided to make one. I used a shiny metallic fabric that was on sale for Halloween and a 14-inch zipper.

The zipper even works. See? To pad it, I recycled two squares of old carpet padding, and sandwiched each between two thin squares (rectangles, really) of foam, which are under the interior lining of the case. I cut it the foam squares from the envelope things that are used to cushion my parent’s china, because really, could china cost as much as a computer? If so… well, sorry about that, parents. It’s actually pretty shock absorbent, so far as I can tell, and the grand total for me was $10. Anyhow, my computer, in all it’s Halloween-y glory:

Next, I’ve been boning up on movies lately, so I needed something to do while I watched them that didn’t involve a sewing machine (the machine and DVD player are not, unfortunately, in the same room). Jewelry turned out to be the answer:

The bracelet is a little precious, and not quite my style. It’ll probably go to my mother. Still, I got those little green glass rings in Chelsea two years ago, and I’m glad to have finally used them up. The pendant on the shorter chain necklace is a cross section of a stick from the 60-foot oak tree that’s in front of the house I grew up in (which might get sold in the near future). The stick was on the ground, no trees were harmed in the making of this necklace. The other necklace… is just a necklace.

I thrifted this dress last summer in Massachusetts, but only just got around to taking seven inches off the bottom:

I wore it to a bachelorette party, and then I went wading in it. It’s multi-purposed like that. More to come, so hit me up tomorrow!

