You know, I don’t much discuss my career in this blog. That’s partly because it could get boring pretty quickly (auditions, auditions, auditions, auditions, networking, auditions, auditions, and occasionally, a job), and partly because I like to use this blog as a pleasant distraction.

But I can’t stray too far from my passions, and I’ve been lucky to see a decent amount of theatre lately. People are always asking what shows I’ve seen and what I thought, so I thought perhaps I’d write a few mini-reviews here. It’s true what they say: everyone really is a critic. Or at least, I am. So! First things first: Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown. I loved it. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about an Almodovar film on stage–and in English–at first, but the director and designers did a beautiful job of it. And the cast! The cast is first rate. It’s a high energy, fast-paced show, but it’s not without its introspective moments, and it’s so, so well-executed. While they did successfully catch a lot of the feel of an Almodovar film–the fluidity of identity, answers in unexpected places, unlikely characters–some of the darkness of the original film was lost. For me, so many of his films are about making crazy, affirming, smart life choices, but not without the threat of their choices going awry; there’s always a darkness lurking around the corner. That’s the only element that the stage version lost. That said, it was bound to have a slightly different aesthetic than the original movie, and I wouldn’t have wanted to see a carbon copy anyway. The somewhat different tone didn’t detract from the overall product, and anyway, the only truly dark musical I’ve ever seen in Cabaret. But I digress. All in all it was a fantastic night of theatre, populated with a seriously spectacular group of actors.

Next up: Lombardi! Let me first say that I would not have seen this on my own. Nope: I wouldn’t have gone had I not had comps. That said, I’m awfully grateful to have had them, because it was an enlightening show. I say ‘enlightening’ because the performances were brilliant, the design was solid, the staging was neat. . . and yet, it wasn’t a good show. And why? The story. The story was totally not stageworthy. There was no dramatic action in it whatsoever. It was a pity, too, because the actors are all so strong: it’s chock full of award-worthy performances. It’s just not a great story.

Next up, I’ll post a few thoughts on Elling with Brendan Fraser. And that’s what I’ve seen on stage recently! More reviews to come.

